This app was removed from the App Store.

Nathaniel Hawthorne's Collection [ 19 books ]

Nathaniel Hawthorne's Collection [ 19 books ]

iOS iPhone Books

$1.99 was Free
Own Wish Buy Buy

This book contain collection of 19 books

1. A Study of Hawthorne, by G. P. Lathrop [1876]
2. Hawthorne, by Henry James [1879]
3. The Life and Genius of Nathaniel Hawthorne, by Frank Preston Stearns [1906]
4. Fanshawe [published anonymously, 1826]
5. The Scarlet Letter [1850]
6. The House of the Seven Gables [1851]
7. The Blithedale Romance [1852]
8. The Marble Faun; or, The Romance of Monte Beni [1860] [published in England under the title of “Transformation”]
9. Doctor Grimshawe’s Secret : a Romance ; with preface and notes by Julian Hawthorne [1882]
10. Twice–Told Tales [1st Series, 1837, 2nd Series, 1842]
11. Mosses from an Old Manse, and other stories [1846]
12. The Snow Image and other stories [1851]
13. Tales of the White Hills, Legends of New England, Legends of the Province House [1877, contain tales which had already been printed in book form in “Twice–Told Tales” and the “Mosses”]
14. Alice Doane’s Appeal [1835]
15. The Ancestral Footstep
16. The Dolliver Romance [1st Part in “Atlantic Monthly”, 1864; in 3 Parts, 1876]
17. Septimius Felton; or, the Elixir of Life [1872]
18. Life of Franklin Pierce [1852]
19. Chiefly about War Matters [This article appeared in the “Atlantic Monthly” for July, 1862]

About the Author
Nathaniel Hawthorne, 1804-1864

Nathaniel Hawthorne was already a man of forty–six, and a tale writer of some twenty–four years’ standing, when “The Scarlet Letter” appeared. He was born at Salem, Mass., on July 4th, 1804, son of a sea–captain. He led there a shy and rather sombre life; of few artistic encouragements, yet not wholly uncongenial, his moody, intensely meditative temperament being considered. Its colours and shadows are marvelously reflected in his “Twice–Told Tales” and other short stories, the product of his first literary period. Even his college days at Bowdoin did not quite break through his acquired and inherited reserve; but beneath it all, his faculty of divining men and women was exercised with almost uncanny prescience and subtlety. “The Scarlet Letter,” which explains as much of this unique imaginative art, as is to be gathered from reading his highest single achievement, yet needs to be ranged with his other writings, early and late, to have its last effect. In the year that saw it published, he began “The House of the Seven Gables,” a later romance or prose–tragedy of the Puritan–American community as he had himself known it—defrauded of art and the joy of life, “starving for symbols” as Emerson has it. Nathaniel Hawthorne died at Plymouth, New Hampshire, on May 18th, 1864.

Show More...

My Rating

App Store Rating